Saving Franklin Cinema, losing all sense

The City Paper is reporting (here) that the Franklin Cinema is closing it’s doors in January because it can’t afford the rent increase when its current lease expires. I’ve never been to the cinema, but I like seeing it when I drive through downtown. It’s quaint, and it harkens back to the good ol’ days. End of story for me because I have neither the resources, nor the contacts, nor the fire in the belly to preserve a movie theater.

The report is even-handed in my opinion, but the interesting thing is the comments to the story. I learn that the place is a dump and that maybe it’s not able to turn a profit because it is a “dump.” Too bad more Wal-Mart hit pieces don’t have comment-on-the-story features.

  1. KC

    The place is a dump.




Leave a Reply

